California Circuit Newsletter — November 2015


Marguerite Happy

The 2015 WPRA CA Circuit Finals is in the books. Stories will be told for decades to come regarding the precarious weather and road conditions. Severe mud slides hit I 5 and 58, making it difficult for cowboys and cowgirls who were traveling from northern California. Some were actually caught in the middle of this; others were thankfully in front of the storm; others set out earlier and camped in Bakersfield until roads opened up. Thank you PRCA for making the call to cancel the first per on friday at 7pm, postponing until saturday at 1pm. Second perf was saturday 7pm and third perf sunday at 1pm.

We are grateful to Jim Ritchie and his arena crew for working so hard on the arena; making it as safe for the livestock as possible.

12107989 1056463767721042 1010820547892304903 n

2015 Miss Rodeo California Carollann Scott presenting Ann Scott the 2015
CCF Year End Champion Award at this years CCF! Carollann and Ann are cousins!

Carollann Scott relinquished her 2015 Miss Rodeo California Queen Crown to newly crowned 2016 Miss Rodeo California Rachel Owens-Sarno Miss Rodeo Lakeside during the Coronation! We wish Carollann Scott much luck; she will be running for 2016 Miss Rodeo America.

CA Circuit Meeting was well attended. Circuit President Johnny Zamrzla presided and Teresa Cobb joined us this year representing PRCA answering questions anyone had.

Montana Silversmith’s Awards were given to all Contract Personal by the Circuit in appreciation for their work.

Cindy Rosser was honored by the WPRA CA Circuit; recognizing that she has been chosen as the 2015 Lenora Reimer’s Heritage Recipient for her dedication to Pro Rodeo. Her Award will be given at the WPRA Star Celebration on Thursday December 3rd, 11:30 to 1:15 at the South Point Hotel and Casino.

Lenora Reimers Heritage Award Previous Winners:

2013 Jimmie Munroe, 2012 Pat Hutter, 2011 Kathi Myers, 2010 Mary and Troy Gibbs, 2009 Jymmy Kay Davis, 2008 Jo Kirby and Lenora Reimers (tie), 2006 Kenneth Springer, 2005 Imogene Fyffe, 2004 John and Mildred Farris, 2003 Florence Youree, 2002 Carolynn Vietor, 2001 June Ivory.

Tootie and Tedda Hudson graciously hosted a tri-tip/pulled pork luncheon with delicious side dishes and desserts; which included a Birthday cake for Christina Richman’s Birthday Celebration! Tootie also sponsored Year End and Average Champ Bronc Halters!

Christina’s good horse Xtrared aka Stitch won the prestigious 2015 WPRA CA CIrcuit Horse of the Year Award which included a AQHA Trophy sponsored by Justin Insurance; Back On Track Blanket sponsored by Cross Country Ranch/Judge Cash, pedigree book sponsored by Nancysu Herron. This award is voted on by the CCF qualifiers, Circuit Director and VP. Stitch is a gritty little mare that loves her job and has come back as strong as ever after recovering from an injury. Congratulations Xtrared!

Jerri Mann is our 2015 WPRA CA CIrcuit Pioneer Award winner. Candy Forseberg was on hand to receive this award on behalf of Jerri with past World Champion Sam Brackenbury presenting. Pioneer Cowgirl Award is voted on by the WPRA CA Circuit Spokeswoman; Director and past recipients.
Candy was also recognized and thanked for her willingness and support to our Circuit.

We recognized Katrina Dugo as our 2015 WPRA CA CIrcuit Rookie winner. Katrina will receive her Rookie Buckle at the Divisional FInals November 7th in Shandon.

I would like to remind you that November 7th is the date for our CDF, CPF, CJF Finals, held in conjunction with 2015 Spurr Ranch Barrel Challenge open 5D barrel race with $12,000 added.

If anyone has a Silent Auction Item to donate to our fund raiser it is greatly appreciated.

We will draw our Raffle Ticket Winner during a big drag and give a few other awards at this time.

At the end of the race and after Spurr Ranch hands out their awards, we will hold our Award Ceremony. There will be awards for Futurity 1D/2D, Derby and Ropers.

If you have a Futurity/Derby horse, be sure to “nominate” them. There is no cost. Each Circuit Qualifier was asked to write thank you notes to our loyal sponsors and each received a list of sponsors.

CCF qualifiers were reminded that if they win go rounds or average at the CCF on a PESI horse, to be sure to fill the paperwork out and submit for payment. Riding a PESI horse is always a plus!

Congratulations to the following:
* Medium Rodeo Award will be given to Santa Maria Elks Rodeo

* NFR Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Larry Jordan who was instrumental in starting our CIrcuit System among numerous accomplishments!

* California Rodeos to be recognized for the prestigious Justin Best Footing Award are California Rodeo Salinas, Red Bluff Roundup and Redding Rodeo. Most Improved Rodeo VenturaCo. Fair Rodeo

(last years winners CA Rodeo, Kern Country Sheriff Reserve, Ramona, most improved Tehachapi)

This years CCF gave Best Dressed Awards in each go round. Thank you Rodeo Quincy for sponsoring Rodeo Quincy Belt Gift Certificates, Ryan Michael/Barn Fly for their shirts, Rhinestone Lipgloss for their hand made earings.

2015 CCF Best Dressed winners:
1st go: 1. Rachel Dice 2. Ruth Haislip
2nd go: 1. Jolee Lautaret-Jordan 2. Rachel Dice
3rd go: 1. Rachel Dice 2. Jolee Lautaret-Jordan
3rd place best dressed awards will be mailed!

Congratulations to the CCF Barrel racing winners:
First round:
1. Ruth Haislip, 15.76 seconds, $1,820; 2. Rachel Primm, 15.80, $1,365; 3. Ann Scott, 15.90, $910; 4. Jolee Lautaret-Jordan, 15.92, $455.

Second round:
1. (tie) Ann Scott, and Ruth Haislip, 15.77 seconds, $1,592 each; 3. Jolee Lautaret-Jordan, 15.79, $910; 4. Mary Jo Camera, 15.83, $455.

Third round:
1. Rachel Dice, 15.39 seconds, $1,820; 2. Linda Vick, 15.90, $1,365; 3. Jolee Lautaret-Jordan, 15.95, $910; 4. Mary Jo Camera, 15.98, $455.

Average: 1. Jolee Lautaret-Jordan, 47.66 seconds on three head, $2,729; 2. Ruth Haislip, 47.75, $2,047; 3. Mary Jo Camera, 48.11, $1,365; 4. Courtney Cline, 48.15, $682.
CCF Year End Winner Ann Scott-McGilchrist
CCF Average Winner Jolee Lautaret-Jordan

Always looking for sponsors if anyone knows of any, send me their way.

For a list of our sponsors go to our WPRA CA Circuit official page

Support our sponsors, without them this would not be possible!

Blessings to all,

Marguerite Happy
WPRA CA Circuit Director
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Pin It