ProRodeo Hall of Fame

101 ProRodeo Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80919
(719) 528-4764


NFR 2019 ProRodeo Hall of Fame Class Announced

By Ann Bleiker

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The 2019 ProRodeo Hall of Fame inductees were announced on Monday, April 22 and will mark the 41st annual induction. A total of 12 will be inducted including three trailblazers representing the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association.

WPRA’s 2019 induction class is represented by a trio of WPRA World Champions. Two ladies, Jimmie Gibbs Munroe (1975) and Sammy Thurman Brackenbury (1965) earned titles in the WPRA’s premier event of barrel racing, while notable Florence Youree captured an All-Around Championship in 1966. Each one of these ladies has played an integral part in the history of barrel racing and the overall sport of rodeo. On the PRCA side inductees include stock contractors Elra Beutler and his son, Jiggs; four-time world champion team roping heeler Allen Bach(1979, 1990, 1995, 2006); two-time world champion steer wrestler Dean Gorsuch (2006, 2010); world champion bull rider Doug “Droopy” Brown (1969); world champion bareback rider Larry Peabody (1984); notable Jerome Robinson; the Cody (Wyo.) Stampede Rodeo; contract personnel Tommy Lucia; and three time (1998-2000) Bareback Horse of the Yaer Commotion, one of the greatest bucking horses of all time that bucked under the Beutler and Gaylord Rodeo Company.

In addition to the inductees, Guy Elliott, a former arena director for the National Western Stock Show and Rodeo in Denver and the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo and countless others, will receive the Ken Stemler Pioneer Award, which honors individuals in recognition of their groundbreaking, innovative ideas and forward thinking.



WPRA and ProRodeo Hall of Fame

The colorful history and equally colorful legends of professional rodeo live on at the ProRodeo Hall of Fame and Museum of the American Cowboy in Colorado Springs, Colo. This year, 2019, the ProRodeo Hall of Fame celebrates 40 years. In 2017, WPRA Barrel Racers were inducted for the first time.

Including the Class of 2019, the ProRodeo Hall of Fame, which is a popular Colorado Springs attraction for rodeo fans and tourists alike, 277 people, 30 rodeo committees, and 35 animals have been selected for enshrinement.

The 2019 ProRodeo Hall of Fame Inductions will take place at 10 a.m. MT on Aug. 3, 2019 in Colorado Springs, CO.

“Honoring the Past, Celebrating the Present, Promoting the Future”




Pin It