2018 Earnings: $192,834       Career Earnings: $497,516

Back No. 53
Hometown: Cotulla, Texas
NFR qualifications: 2
Joined WPRA: 2015

More bio

DM Sissy Hayday "Sister" (7-year old palomino mare) - Sire: PC Frenchmans Hayday/Dam: Royal Sissy Irish; Thunder Stones "TJ" (14-year old gelding) - Sire: Sticks and Stones/Dam: See F Jets Candy



Contestant Quick Minute


1. Excluding qualifying for the Wrangler NFR, what are your top 2 highlights of the 2018 season?

Winning San Antonio, as I have grown up watching from the stands every year and always wanted to compete there, and my whole family was there! Also winning Calgary, as this is such an honor to join the list of former champions there.

2. Which rodeo is still on your "bucket list" to win?
Houston, Fort Worth, Cheyenne

3. At what point during the season did you know you had a lock on the Wrangler NFR?
I had a very blessed winter run, so after Houston, we had a pretty good idea.

4. What are you most looking forward to doing/experiencing in Las Vegas?
Running down that alley 10 times!

5. Have you ever been to LasVegas other than the NFR? What shows, or events are your most favorite things to do?
I've never been to a show there, but I have loved watching the rodeo, all the great places to eat, and seeing friends I don't often get to see!

6. What has been your proudest moment this past season?
Probably the shootout round at Calgary. This was a run where I knew I that no matter how good I had done that week, I couldn't play it safe and win, so I really went for it.

7. How would you describe your horse's running and turning you think the Thomas & Mack environment will compliment it?
Sister is very quick in her turns and efficient between the barrels, and TJ is really fun to ride indoors as he is pretty free running. I think either one could do well in that set up and I'm thankful to have both healthy and ready!

8. What are you most thankful for?
The unconditional love from my God, family, boyfriend, and friends, and the ability to spend every day on a horse.

9. List your sponsors
Classic Equine, Cinch, Purina, Platinum Performance, Yeti, 12 Gauge Ranch, Capital Farm Credit-Agri Insurance, P&P Trailer Sales, Bloomer Trailers

10. Who or what keeps you most grounded and humble?
My faith and family, and the knowledge that this life and these opportunities are not guaranteed, so I have to enjoy them.

11. Who pushes you most to achieve an NFR qualification?
Myself and my own goals

12. What kind of support team do you have, i.e.

  1. Driver or someone who figures out the logistics of getting to all the rodeos, i.e. layovers
    My mom, Paige Phillips, Emily Mangione and Jess have all helped me this year with driving and travel assistance. Also, a huge thank you to Lisa and Brian Anderson at Copper Spring Ranch for always taking care of us in the summers up north.
  2. Vet and Farrier while on the road
    My main vet, Dr. David Dutton, is my go-to when I am in Texas, and is always a phone call away for assistance on the road. Dr. Chris Ray and Carly with Ray Equine Services, have been exceptional when I am up north. My farrier, Bob Hodges, works with me all year long to get my horses taken care of wherever I am.

13. What is your go to snack food on the road?
Anything but nuts, Leslie.

14. Which former NFR or World Champion Barrel Racer would you seek rodeo advice from and why?
I have learned so much from Brittany Pozzi-Tonozzi, Lisa Lockhart, Mary Walker, and I'm an intense studier of all of those who have been successful, such as Sherry Cervi and Charmayne James. There is so much knowledge to continually soak in just by observing!

15. Do you travel with any animals other than your horses and if yes, tell us about them.
Niña is my blue heeler that has never missed a rodeo this year... she goes everywhere. Darby, my mom's heeler, spent the summer with me as well. They are some wild little hoodlums when together!

16. Have you ever sung karaoke? What is your favorite song to sing?
I sang “Man I Feel Like A Woman” with my friends one time, but that is about it.

17. What is your favorite app on your phone?
Google Maps to get me everywhere!

18. Which do you enjoy watching more, television or movies? What types: drama, sports, comedy, romance? Which specific ones are your favorite?
I mostly watch sports and comedy movies. I do like a good drama or inspirational movie -- current favorite is The Greatest Showman!

19. Have you endured any “life changing” moments?
So many, but one I will mention is losing Sister's half sister one week after The American in 2017. Sometimes your lowest lows bring the potential for your highest highs.

20. If you could live in any other area of the US other than where you now reside where would it be?
I love the central and north Texas areas, but also have always loved Montana (in the summers)!

21. What sport other than rodeo would you shine in?

22.What is a daily "must do/have" to keep your life organized or stress free?
My planner

23. What is you #1 "must have" for keeping your trailer organized and stocked as needed? Would it be in the horse area or living quarters area?
My tack room is my favorite part of my trailer. I love it because I know where all of my favorite things are.

24. What's a misconception about barrel racing?
There are several. One is that it is easy to win when you have a good horse. It is essential, but not easy.