The Peterson Family

WPRA Lifetime Family Heritage Award

WPRA Announces 2022 Committee and Contract Awards

By Ann Bleiker

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO – The WPRA is pleased to announce their contract award winners that work tirelessly behind the scenes to make it all happen and keeps the Association alive and well. Each winner will be officially recognized during the WPRA Star Celebration at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Thursday, December 1.

Honored this year with the WPRA Lifetime Family Heritage Award is the Peterson Family – Kristie Peterson, Jordon (Peterson) Briggs and the late Chuck Peterson. In 2021, the Peterson family made history in the WPRA with Kristie and Jordon becoming the first mother-daughter duo to win a world title. Jordon enters this year’s Wrangler National Finals Rodeo ranked No. 1 and looking to add to that legacy. She will have an extra angel riding with her this year after her dad passed away the end of August. Without Chuck’s encouragement the rodeo world might never have been treated to watching the great Bozo and Kristie and now his daughter, Jordon and Rollo. Time will only tell if Jordon’s daughter, Bexley, will continue the family legacy.

A lady that has covered both these world champions along with hundreds more is Kendra Santos, who will be receiving the WPRA Media Award this year. Santos has spent her entire life in the western industry and has used her talents to bring the stories of rodeo athletes to life. She previously was honored with this award in 1997.

Another individual who helps bring rodeo athlete stories to life and informs the audience about the sport of rodeo is rodeo announcer Steve Kenyon. Kenyon has used his voice to inform rodeo fans through live rodeo performances, radio and now TV. Kenyon joins an elite group of announcers to have been honored with the WPRA Announcer of the Year award at least twice. Kenyon first won the award in 2010. He joins Bob Tallman (1998, 2020), Boyd Polhamus (2000, 2003, 2005), Hadley Barrett (2001, 2011) and Alan Moorhead (2008-09) as a repeat honoree in this category.

In celebration of their 75 years in the business, Wrangler Jeans and Shirts will be honored with the WPRA Distinguished Partnership Award. Wrangler has been a cornerstone in the sport of rodeo and through their continued support rodeo dreams really can come true at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo and Wrangler National Finals Breakaway Roping.

Rodeo committees have long been the backbone of the rodeo industry and without the hardworking rodeo committees, the industry would have a hard time existing. Winning the WPRA Large Rodeo of the Year award in 2022 is the Ogden (UT) Pioneer Days Rodeo. The Woodward (OK) Elks Rodeo will be honored as the Medium Rodeo of the Year and the Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo in Vinita, Oklahoma, will take home the Small Rodeo of the Year.

The WPRA would like to congratulate each of the award recipients as well as those that were nominated for these prestigious awards.


Below is a full list of those that will be recognized by the WPRA in 2022.

Announcer of the Year
Steve Kenyon

Stock Contractor of the Year
Andrews Rodeo Company – Sammy Andrews

Judge of the Year
Sam Minnick

Mildred Farris Secretary of the Year
Marlene Dreesen

Small Rodeo of the Year (added money of $5,000 or less)
Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo (Vinita, OK)

Medium Rodeo of the Year (added money of $5,001 – $9,999)
Woodward (OK) Elks Rodeo

Large Rodeo of the Year (added money over $10,000)
Ogden (UT) Pioneer Days Rodeo

Corporate Partner of the Year

Media Award
Kendra Santos

Lenora Reimers’ Heritage Award
Jerri Mann

Outstanding Individual of the Year
Janet Cropper

Outstanding Service & Dedication Award
George Gibbs

Distinguished Partnership
Wrangler Jeans and Shirts

Lifetime Family Heritage Award
Peterson Family – Kristie and Chuck Peterson and Jordon (Peterson) Briggs

Outstanding Rodeo Committee Partner
Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo (NFR Open) – Colorado Springs, CO

Innovative Rodeo of the Year
Cowboy Channel Rookie Roundup presented by Resistol

Breakaway Trailblazer
Farm-City Pro Rodeo – Hermiston, OR

Outstanding Committee Woman Presented by Montana Silversmiths
Cindy Williams


Pozzi Tonozzi Sets New WPRA Regular Season Earnings Record

Pozzi Tonozzi Sets New WPRA Regular Season Earnings Record

Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi Member Spotlight Pozzi Tonozzi Sets New WPRA Regular Season Earnings Record By Ann Bleiker Photo by Roseanna Sales Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi officially set a new WPRA regular season earnings record during the first round of the inaugural Cinch...

Entries Now Open for 2023 WPRA World Finals in Waco

Entries Now Open for 2023 WPRA World Finals in Waco

Nominations for Outstanding Committee Woman of the Year Entries Now Open for 2023 WPRA World Finals in Waco Unlike most other professional sports that have an off-season, in rodeo when one season ends the next one begins immediately. So, while we are approaching the...

431 South Cascade
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 447-4627
(719) 447-4631 (fax)

431 South Cascade
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 447-4627   |   (719) 447-4631 (fax)


Where the Elite Compete®