Wrangler NFR 2022 Special Award Winners

NFR 2022 Special Award Winners

WPRA Announces 2022 Committee and Contract Awards

The WPRA is pleased to announce their contract award winners that work tirelessly behind the scenes to make it all happen and keeps the Association alive and well. Each winner will be officially recognized during the WPRA Star Celebration at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Thursday, December 1.

Honored this year with the WPRA Lifetime Family Heritage Award is the Peterson Family – Kristie Peterson, Jordon (Peterson) Briggs and the late Chuck Peterson. In 2021, the Peterson family made history in the WPRA with Kristie and Jordon becoming the first mother-daughter duo to win a world title. Jordon enters this year’s Wrangler National Finals Rodeo ranked No. 1 and looking to add to that legacy. She will have an extra angel riding with her this year after her dad passed away the end of August. Without Chuck’s encouragement the rodeo world might never have been treated to watching the great Bozo and Kristie and now his daughter, Jordon and Rollo. Time will only tell if Jordon’s daughter, Bexley, will continue the family legacy.

The Peterson Family

A lady that has covered both these world champions along with hundreds more is Kendra Santos, who will be receiving the WPRA Media Award this year. Santos has spent her entire life in the western industry and has used her talents to bring the stories of rodeo athletes to life. She previously was honored with this award in 1997.

Another individual who helps bring rodeo athlete stories to life and informs the audience about the sport of rodeo is rodeo announcer Steve Kenyon. Kenyon has used his voice to inform rodeo fans through live rodeo performances, radio and now TV. Kenyon joins an elite group of announcers to have been honored with the WPRA Announcer of the Year award at least twice. Kenyon first won the award in 2010. He joins Bob Tallman (1998, 2020), Boyd Polhamus (2000, 2003, 2005), Hadley Barrett (2001, 2011) and Alan Moorhead (2008-09) as a repeat honoree in this category.

In celebration of their 75 years in the business, Wrangler Jeans and Shirts will be honored with the WPRA Distinguished Partnership Award. Wrangler has been a cornerstone in the sport of rodeo and through their continued support rodeo dreams really can come true at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo and Wrangler National Finals Breakaway Roping.

Rodeo committees have long been the backbone of the rodeo industry and without the hardworking rodeo committees, the industry would have a hard time existing. Winning the WPRA Large Rodeo of the Year award in 2022 is the Ogden (UT) Pioneer Days Rodeo. The Woodward (OK) Elks Rodeo will be honored as the Medium Rodeo of the Year and the Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo in Vinita, Oklahoma, will take home the Small Rodeo of the Year.

The WPRA would like to congratulate each of the award recipients as well as those that were nominated for these prestigious awards.


2022 Award Winners

Outstanding Service and Dedication
George Gibbs

Media Award
Kendra Santos

Announcer of the Year
Steve Kenyon

Judge of the Year
Sam Minnick

Secretary of the Year
Marlene Dreesen

Small Rodeo of the Year (Less than $5,000 added)
Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo – Vinita, OK

Medium Rodeo of the Year ($5,000 – $9,999 added)
Woodward Elks Rodeo – Woodward, OK

Large Rodeo of the Year ($10,000 or more)
Ogden Pioneer Days – Ogden, UT

Corporate Partner of the Year
Freedom Health LLC – Makers of SUCCEED Equine

Stock Contractor of the Year
Sammy Andrews – Andrews Rodeo Company

Lenora Reimers’ Heritage Award
Jerri Mann

Outstanding Individual of the Year
Janet Cropper

Distinguished Partnership
Wrangler Jeans and Shirts

Lifetime Family Heritage Award
The Peterson Family

Outstanding Rodeo Committee Partner
Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo (NFR Open), Colorado Springs, CO

Innovative Rodeo of the Year
Cowboy Channel Rookie Roundup presented by Resistol

Breakaway Trailblazer
Farm-City Pro Rodeo Hermiston, OR

Outstanding Committee Woman Presented by Montana Silversmiths
Cindy Williams




NFR 2022 Winning Runs

NFR 2022 Winning Runs

NFR 2022 Winning Runs NFR 2022 Winning RunsComing Soon!Jordon Briggs Round 01 - Thursday, December 1st Ranked #1 READ FULL BIOQUICK LINKSBARREL RACINGNFR STORIES431 South Cascade Colorado Springs, CO 80903(719) 447-4627 (719) 447-4631 (fax)Privacy Policy Contact US431...

431 South Cascade
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 447-4627
(719) 447-4631 (fax)

431 South Cascade
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 447-4627   |   (719) 447-4631 (fax)


Where the Elite Compete®